Why France’s Theo Hernandez was not given a red card in World Cup win vs England
Posted by  badge Boss on Dec 11, 2022 - 09:50AM
Theo Hernandez barged over Mason Mount to gift England a late penalty (Shutterstock)

England crashed out of the following a 2-1 defeat to France on Saturday evening.

Aurelien Tchouameni’s superb long-range strike gave France the lead in the 17th minute but England equalised through Kane in the second half after won a penalty.

Olivier Giroud then put France back in front with 12 minutes remaining as he got on the end of Antoine Griezmann’s superb cross from the left flank.

Kane was then handed another chance to pull England level from the penalty spot after was barged over inside France’s area by Theo Hernandez.

Brazilian referee Wilton Sampaio initially didn’t give the decision and required assistance from VAR to give the penalty.

But England were further incensed after Sampaio only gave Hernandez a yellow card, despite him being the last man and denying Mount a goalscoring opportunity.

Brazilian referee Wilton Sampaio correctly gave Theo Hernandez a yellow card (AFP via Getty)

However, Sampaio was correct in not giving Hernandez a red card as Mount was not in possession of the ball when the foul was made.

Former Premier League official Peter Walton told ITV: ‘It would be a fair question if he denied a goalscoring opportunity, unfortunately for England the player [Mount] does not have possession of the ball, therefore it wouldn’t be the denial of a goalscoring opportunity.’

Harry Kane blazed his second penalty over the bar as England missed a second chance to equalise (AP)

Kane stepped up once again but blazed his effort high over the bar.

France will now play Morocco in the semi final on Wednesday.


 and .

World Cup 2022: your FAQs answered

Read the latest World Cup news on .

You Might Also Like 👇